Universidad del Turabo is a nonprofit institution of higher education. Its 140-acre suburban campus and its fifteen buildings provide an ideal atmosphere for the learning experience. It has  university centers in Cayey,Yabucoa, Naguabo, Isabela, Ponce, and Orlando (in the state of Florida).

It is a professionally oriented institution with a variety of offerings from technical certificates to doctoral degrees.  The institution serves a diversified student body mostly from the surrounding communities, with a variety of economic and educational backgrounds. 

Founded in 1972, Universidad del Turabo has continued to grow through the 2000s. The student population of more than 14,000 is composed of young adults and professional adult students.

The academic staff consists of more than one hundred forty (150) full-time faculty members and two hundred (200) adjunct professors. The full-time faculty members hold doctorates and master’s degrees in their fields of expertise. Nearly fifty-five (55) percent of Universidad del Turabo’s full-time faculty are professors or associate professors, and forty-five (45) percent are assistant professors or instructors.

The gender distribution of the faculty is equally divided. Universidad del Turabo is a member of the Ana G. Méndez University System.

The academic offerings of the institution are organized into six main areas: Engineering, Science and Technology, Health Sciences, Education, Business Administration, and Human and Social Sciences.