International Affairs
Home About Study Abroad & Student Exchange International Programs for Faculty & Administrators Visiting International Scholars & Dignitaries News & Events (Blog) Photo & Video Gallery
International Affairs
UNE's International Affairs program is focused on expanding study and education abroad opportunities for students, faculty and administrators and facilitating international student exchange through international collaborations, partnerships and alliances; internationalizing the curriculum and co-curriculum experiences, including hosting international conferences, visits from international dignitaries, scholars and business professionals; and promoting international career, internship and service learning opportunities for UNE students.

UNE’s International Affairs program is designed to enhance international understanding and communication and an appreciation of other cultures through the exchange of ideas and international experiences, as well as the development of projects that contribute to a better quality of life by strengthening the economic, social, and cultural progress of Puerto Rico and other nations of the world.

Specific International Affairs initiatives at UNE include:

International Study Abroad and Exchange Programs
International Student Exchange Programs (ISEP)
International Scholarship Programs
Benjamin A. Gilman International Scholarship Program 
Fulbright U.S. Student and Scholar Programs
Boren Awards for International Study (Scholarships and Fellowships)
Rotary International Scholarships
International Education Programs
Institute for International Education (IIE)
Council for the International Exchange of Scholars (CIES)
Fulbright Scholars Program
International Agreements, Alliances and Networks
Organization of American States (OAS) - Department of Human Development, Education & Culture
Consejo Superior de Universidades de Centroamérica (CSUCA)
The Washington Center (TWC)
Hispanic Association of Colleges and Universities (HACU)
Congressional Hispanic Caucus Institute (CHCI)
Organization of American States (OAS)
Caribbean-Central American Action (CCAA)
Inter-American Development Bank (IDB)
Agreements with International Universities
Universidad del Golfo de California - Mexico
Universidad San Ignacio de Loyola - Peru
Instituto Tecnológico de Chile (INACAP) - Chile
Haaga-Helia University of Applied Sciences - Finland
Universidade Estadual de Norte Fluminense - Brazil
Universidade do Ceará - Brazil
   System-Wide Agreements of the Ana G. Mendez University System with International Universities
Universidad de Quintana Roo - Mexico
Universidad Tecnológica de Santiago - Dominican Republic
Universidad de Huelva - Spain
Toulouse Business School - France
Universidad del Salvador - Argentina
Universidad Nacional de Santiago del Estero - Argentina
Universidad Austral de Chile - Chile
UNE Agreements with U.S. Universities
Penn State University School of Hospitality Management  (UNE International School of Hospitality & Culinary Arts)
George Mason University School of Management (UNE IEN Business School)
University of Sioux Falls, South Dakota
Johnson and Wales University (UNE International School of Hospitality & Culinary Arts)
International Internships
International Student Exchange Programs (ISEP) Internships
International Volunteer Opportunities
International Student Exchange Programs (ISEP) Global Engagement Programs
Peace Corps
Rotary International
UNE Rotaract Club
Visiting Fulbright Scholars and Other International Visitors and Professionals
Prof. Yuriria Hernández of Mexico, Fulbright Occasional Lecturer Program (OLP) - 2012
Dr. Olumide Longe of Nigeria, Fulbright Occasional Lecturer Program (OLP) - 2012
Dr. Joon C. Eom of Korea, Fulbright Occasional Lecturer Program (OLP) - 2012
Prof. Carlos Robles of Brazil, Fulbright Occasional Lecturer Program (OLP) - 2012
Dr. Cristina Salgado of Brazil, 2009-2011 Fulbright Scholar in Residence (SIR)
Dr. Sylvan Blignaut of South Africa,  Fulbright Occasional Lecturer Program (OLP) - 2011
Dr. Mateo Estrella of Ecuador, Hubert H. Humphrey Fellow (HHH) -2011

Dr. Irina Petrovska of Macedonia,  Fulbright Occasional Lecturer Program (OLP)-2010
Dr. Zhang Xu of China, Fulbright Occasional Lecturer Program (OLP) -2010
Dr. Radha Rajagopalan of Canada, Fulbright Occasional Lecturer Program (OLP) - 2009
Dr. Nagwa Megahed of Egypt, Fulbright Occasional Lecturer Program (OLP) - 2009
Visiting Ambassadors and International Dignitaries
2011:  Ambassador of Kosovo - His Excellency, Avni Spahiu
2010:  Ambassador of Peru - His Excellency, Luis Valdivieso
2009:  Bahamas
2008:  Chile
2006:  Hungary
2005:  Argentina
2003:  Nicaragua
2001:  Costa Rica
2000:  Chile
1999:  Spain
Tel. (787) 257-7373,
Ext. 2242, 2237

Physical Address
Centro de Empleo UNE
Ave. Principal Sabana
Carr. 190
Barrio Sabana Abajo
Carolina, P.R. 00984-2010
Mailing Address
P.O. Box 2010
Carolina, P.R. 00984-2010
Look for us